Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Would you like to be "Limitless"?


This movie I am going to say caught me somewhat off guard. I was expecting to see a movie about some superhero that takes a pill and he was invincible. To some extent that is true, but it seemed have other messages tied in. The is about a writer named Edie (Bradley Cooper and Bryan won't be disappointed by his hotness), whose life seems to be going down the drain. His girlfriend just left him, and he was at a standstill writing his book. He was approached by his ex-brother in law who offered him some new FDA approved drug that will allow one to use all their brain's capacity. I thought this was too good to be true, and sure enough it was. Bradley Cooper took the drug and he was instantly a genius and quickly his life was in overdrive. However, after taking the drug there was some serious side effects(so not FDA approved it seems). This was threw me for a loop. A major chunk of the movie, seemed like we were watching some drug addict fighting the withdrawals. A message to all the drug addicts and to some extent Call of Duty junkies. I won't say anymore to not give away any spoilers but, overall I thought the plot was original and interesting. There didn't seem to be dull moment in the movie. The acting was excellent and when the movie was over I felt I got my money's worth. I think it deserves an 8 out of 10. 

Saturday, April 9, 2011

True Grit - HUH?




That is what I wanted to keep asking my wife while we were watching this movie. Huh? I would look over at her but I knew she was thinking the same thing. What did he say? It was like when you’re talking to a Mexican who is just learning English and you don’t want to keep asking what after everything they say so you just listen, hoping you can catch on by the time the silence rolls around and he’s just staring at you and it’s because he just asked you a question that you have no idea what he said. Something like that. And while I’m on one, she seriously lost her arm? The sometimes cute, little 13 year old girl lost her arm? I am not a huge fan of stumps. I am assuming that I am the last person to watch this movie so that is why I’m not afraid to spoil anything. And while I’m at it, why did lil blacky have to die? And the old drunkard? He died too? Oh and why couldn’t I understand almost anything he said?  And why did I end up liking all of the characters so much?  Matt Damon and Jeff Bridges were great together. A couple of my friends told me this movie was funny long before I saw it. I told them, “you guys are idiots. Cowboy movies aren’t made to be funny.” I retract those words. I laughed close to 5 times at some of the one-liners Jeff Bridges dropped. I give this movie a 4 out of 5 fingers because if she lost her arm, then it loses a finger.