Monday, May 2, 2011

Does the Source Code bode?





If you have seen the commercials for the Source Code, just know that the commercials don't do this movie any justice. It was actually pretty good. I haven't seen that many Jake Gyllenhall movies, but this was without a doubt my favorite of his.  To be honest I had a hard time focusing on the movie due to two fat girls sitting behind me making stupid comments the entire movie, but I persevered through it and was pleasantly surprised. I don't want to talk about the storyline to the movie because I felt that not knowing what the plot was made the movie more intriguing. Just know that there is a healthy amount of mystery, a good amount of action and a small dose of humor. All in all I was happy I watched it once, but would never watch it again. I would recommend this movie to anyone who is deciding between watching The Source code or Fast Five.

Overall Score: 7

Why it isn't a 10: While the movie starts strong, I would have like to have seen the movie have a different twist, and possibly a stronger ending.

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Would you like to be "Limitless"?


This movie I am going to say caught me somewhat off guard. I was expecting to see a movie about some superhero that takes a pill and he was invincible. To some extent that is true, but it seemed have other messages tied in. The is about a writer named Edie (Bradley Cooper and Bryan won't be disappointed by his hotness), whose life seems to be going down the drain. His girlfriend just left him, and he was at a standstill writing his book. He was approached by his ex-brother in law who offered him some new FDA approved drug that will allow one to use all their brain's capacity. I thought this was too good to be true, and sure enough it was. Bradley Cooper took the drug and he was instantly a genius and quickly his life was in overdrive. However, after taking the drug there was some serious side effects(so not FDA approved it seems). This was threw me for a loop. A major chunk of the movie, seemed like we were watching some drug addict fighting the withdrawals. A message to all the drug addicts and to some extent Call of Duty junkies. I won't say anymore to not give away any spoilers but, overall I thought the plot was original and interesting. There didn't seem to be dull moment in the movie. The acting was excellent and when the movie was over I felt I got my money's worth. I think it deserves an 8 out of 10. 

Saturday, April 9, 2011

True Grit - HUH?




That is what I wanted to keep asking my wife while we were watching this movie. Huh? I would look over at her but I knew she was thinking the same thing. What did he say? It was like when you’re talking to a Mexican who is just learning English and you don’t want to keep asking what after everything they say so you just listen, hoping you can catch on by the time the silence rolls around and he’s just staring at you and it’s because he just asked you a question that you have no idea what he said. Something like that. And while I’m on one, she seriously lost her arm? The sometimes cute, little 13 year old girl lost her arm? I am not a huge fan of stumps. I am assuming that I am the last person to watch this movie so that is why I’m not afraid to spoil anything. And while I’m at it, why did lil blacky have to die? And the old drunkard? He died too? Oh and why couldn’t I understand almost anything he said?  And why did I end up liking all of the characters so much?  Matt Damon and Jeff Bridges were great together. A couple of my friends told me this movie was funny long before I saw it. I told them, “you guys are idiots. Cowboy movies aren’t made to be funny.” I retract those words. I laughed close to 5 times at some of the one-liners Jeff Bridges dropped. I give this movie a 4 out of 5 fingers because if she lost her arm, then it loses a finger.

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Should I really give Nicholas Cage another chance (Sorcerers Apprentice)?



So I am pretty sure when the Sorcerers Apprentice came out it happened to be the same weekend as the second greatest movie of all time: Inception. Perhaps the movie was a diamond in the rough that was overlooked but after watching it for myself I couldn't really decide if i liked it or not. Jay Baruchel was the main character and minus a couple lame jokes I think his performance was acceptable. As far as Mr. Cage, I think if the world wasn't so sick of him this would have been a half decent performance, but its just hard to listen to his weird voice and imagine a sorcerer when you have seen him as Ghostrider. All in all the movie was filled with enough humor and action to keep adults entertained but clean enough to be appropriate for the younglings. I would like to make a shout out to Teresa Palmer who is the love interest in the movie. I'm glad this movie has a hottie playing the role of the hottie even though she is way out of Jay's league. One thing that really annoyed me was that they played the same One Republic song every time the movie was romantic.

Overall rating: 6.5

Why it isn't a 10? The movie often had jokes that couldn't get a smile out of me. While some of the acting added to the movie others took away from it.

Saturday, November 13, 2010

Megamind was a Mega Good Time


The wife and i went and hit up the matinĂ©e today and after we made it through the previews that seemed like they took forever Megamind finally started. From the opening scene this was throughly entertaining. I was a bit worried about hearing Will Ferrell's voice throughout the whole movie just because sometimes he seems to be annoying instead of funny but I thought he did great. I think the thing I liked most about this was how well it was written. There was humor for both the older kids (us) and the younger kids (the 9 year olds that were laughing so loud it was kind of annoying.) Another brilliant Dreamworks movie but that's nothing new. Tom McGarth, the writer of this movie as well as the Madagascar movies, did a superb job with the script and since I haven't seen any of his other movies, this makes me want to see them. I give this movie 4 out of 5 fingers which means go see the freakin thing!

Friday, November 12, 2010

Throw Back Thursday: A Few Good Men



I have never seen this movie before, but have always heard the famous "YOU CANT HANDLE THE TRUTH!" I have to admit... this was a great movie! Yes it's old and the clothes / hairstyles make you cringe, but if you can look past that to the plot and story of the movie... it will change your life!! Ok, not really... but the movie was absolutely amazing! It had some great actors and they played their parts extremely well! Jack Nicholson back in the day was the man and this movie proves that point once again. On a scale of 1 to 50 with 10 being the highest, I give this movie a 9!! Go out and rent / download / whatever so you can experience this movie!

Saturday, November 6, 2010

The Crazies - About as Scary as a Siamese Twin


Actually, a little less scary than that. Siamese twins kinda freak me out. This movie did not freak me out. Watching most of the shows on TLC is scarier than this movie. Midgets, families with 19 kids, and having 4 wives are all scarier to me than this movie. The plot was quite predictable. It was actually predicted long before I ever actually knew what was going on. Since I knew why the people were actually going crazy, it made it a lot less effective as a scary movie. I really liked one of the beginning scenes with the man walking out onto the baseball field with a shotgun. That was pretty disturbing. I wish there were more of those scenes. I would give this 2 out of 5 fingers. What this means is it was pretty bad but not bad enough to swear at. Good alternative - Paranormal Activity. Now that is scary.